Peace Agreements

Addis Ababa Agreement on the Problem of South Sudan

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Parties: Government of the Democratic Republic of the Sudan; Southern Sudan Liberation Movement

Type: Intra-state

Addis Ababa Agreement on the Problem of South Sudan

27 February 1972

The Parties to the Agreement decided to enact a law called the law for Regional Self-Government in the Southern Provinces, which cannot be amended except by a three-quarters majority of the People’s National Assembly and confirmed by a two-thirds majority in a referendum held in the three Southern Provinces of the Sudan. The Parties agreed that the Provinces of Bahr El Ghazal, Equatoria and Upper Nile would constitute a self-governing region within Sudan and be known as the Southern Region, which will have legislative and executive organs. The People’s Regional Assembly and High Executive Council were established, but would have no powers on matters of a national nature, including national defence, customs and trade or planning for economic and social development. The Agreement set out the composition, election and legislative powers of the People’s Regional Assembly as well as the functions of the High Executive Council. The President may veto any Bill deemed contrary to the National Constitution. The Parties further agreed that citizens of the Southern Region would constitute a sizable proportion of the People’s Armed Forces. The Parties agreed that citizens in the Southern Region would be guaranteed equal opportunities in education, employment and commerce, and agreed that the equality of citizens and personal liberties would be guaranteed in the National Constitution. The Parties established a joint Commission for the implementation of a ceasefire and repatriation of refugees.

Translate »