Covering the period from decolonisation to 2020, this database provides an overview of peace agreements in Africa that contain components related to transitional justice.

As defined by the African Union Transitional Justice Policy (AUTJP), transitional justice encompasses “the various (formal and traditional or non-formal) policy measures and institutional mechanisms that societies, through an inclusive consultative process, adopt in order to overcome past violations, divisions and inequalities and to create conditions for both security and democratic and socio-economic transformation.” This database includes truth-seeking mechanisms, accountability mechanisms following on conflict or crisis periods, and political and institutional reforms. It also includes traditional justice, reparations, socioeconomic measures and recognition and restoration of the human rights of affected and vulnerable communities.

Peace processes are an indicative element of transitional justice. According to the AUTJP, they are “concerned with bringing an end to any ongoing violence and removing the threats of further violence impacting the affected population.” Peace negotiations and agreements ideally incorporate transitional justice considerations from the outset so as to positively influence the resolution of all dimensions of the conflict. This database focuses on peace agreements involving African states and national-level political players. Peace agreements at the subnational level and among non-state actors are not included, nor are agreements that relate only to ceasefires and their implementation or humanitarian aid.

East_Africa map

Abyei Joint Committee Agreement

In relation to the Abyei Joint Committee, the Parties agreed to the establishment of the Abyei Joint Oversight Committee (AJOC) with the aim to oversee the administration of the Abyei Area. The Members of the AJOC agreed to keep in mind the interests of the local communities, especially in relation to the planting and migration seasons. The Parties agreed to ...

Agreement between the Government of the Republic of South Sudan and SSDM/A

The Parties agreed to a renewed amnesty for the SSDM/A and the right of SSDM/A to have appropriate political representation in national and state-level government institutions and identified certain positions to be filled by the SSDM. The Parties further agreed to military integration of the SSDM/A into the SPLA, through a verification committee composed of both Parties. The Parties agreed ...

Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in Jonglei State

The Parties expressed their determination to achieve peace and promote unity among the different ethnic communities in the region, to abandon the culture of revenge and to find a durable solution to the conflict. The Parties agreed that the reconciliation process in Jonglei state would be inclusive. The Parties established the Greater Pibor Administrative Area (GPAA) based on the principle ...

Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan

The Agreement consisted of eight Chapters that set out the agreements between the Parties on: the Transitional Government of National Unity; a permanent ceasefire and transitional security arrangements; humanitarian assistance and reconstruction; resource, economic and financial management arrangements; transitional justice, accountability, reconciliation and healing; parameters of the permanent Constitution; a Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission; and the supremacy of the ...
East_Africa map

Agreement on the Status of Nationals of the Other State

In the Framework Agreement on the Status of Nationals of the Other State, the Parties agreed that the social and economic viability of the two States necessitates continuous interaction between people of the two States. The Parties agreed to set up a Joint High Level Committee to adopt and implement measures on the status and treatment of the nationals of ...

Agreement to Resolve the Crisis in South Sudan

The Parties recognised that peace can be achieved only through inclusive political dialogue and resolved to engage in substantive discussions, via the Intergovernmental Authority on Development-led peace process on the agenda as constituted by the mediation process. The Parties agreed that a transitional government of national unity would offer the best opportunity to take the country forward and that the ...

Areas of Agreement on the Establishment of the Transitional Government of National Unity in the Republic of South Sudan

The Parties agreed to establish a Transitional Government of National Unity for a period of 30 months, preceded by a thee-month pre-transitional period. The Parties agreed for the mandate of the Transitional Government to include inter alia, implementing the peace agreement and restoring peace, expediting the return and rehabilitation of refugees and IDPs, overseeing a process of national reconciliation, overseeing ...
East_Africa map

Cooperation Agreements between Sudan and South Sudan

In the Cooperation Agreement, the Parties recognised that they share a long and rich common heritage, and recognised further the urgent need to bring peace, security and stability. The Parties agreed to establish Sudan and South Sudan as two viable, stable, secure and at peace States, and agreed to cooperate across the range of areas of common interest to ensure ...

Revitalised Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan

The Agreement provided for a Revitalised Transitional Government of National Unity, and set out its establishment, mandate, composition and structure of the Executive, comprising a President, First Vice President and Vice Presidents, Council of Ministers and the Transitional National Legislative Assembly and Council of States. The Agreement provided for the boundaries and number of states. It provided for state and ...
Translate »